First Baptist Church of Annapolis, Inc. Annapolis, Maryland Minutes of the Annual Church Business Meeting Held on January 16, 2023

The Annual Church Business meeting convened at 7:05 p.m. in the sanctuary with Deacon Wallace Williams presiding.

Devotions

Hymn: "O How I Love Jesus"

Scripture: Galatians 6:9-10 – Bro. Jalen Williams

Prayer: Deacon Lynda Gross

Hymn: Last Stanza

I. ADOPTION OF AGENDA:

With a few grammatical changes, the agenda was unanimously adopted.

II. MINUTES FROM PREVIOUS MEETING:

Minutes from both the January 2022 Annual Business Meeting and the June 2022 Special Meeting were accepted with minor edits needed.

III. IN MEMORIAM - 2022

Deaconess Clara McClure

IV. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

There was no unfinished business from last year.

V. REQUIRED MINISTRY/COMMITTEE REPORTS/OTHERS:

A. There was No Action from the following Ministries:

Ministry of Christian Education – report submitted by Deac. Vancie Hackett Church Clerk- submitted by Sister Cecile Jackson Ministry of Deacons - submitted by Deacon Wallace Williams Ministry of Deaconesses - submitted by Deaconess Lynda Gross Superintendent of the Church School - submitted by Sister Nekeidra Everett Ministry of Music – Rev. William "JR" Pinkney

Other Reports Submitted – all with No Actions

Laymen's Ministry
Hospitality
Outreach Ministry
Scholarship Committee
Usher Ministry
Deacon Fred Foreman
Sister Mary Pinckney
Brother Clarence James
Sister Enid Collison-Lee
Sister Yvonne Jones

B. <u>Constitution and ByLaws Committee – report submitted by Bro. George Mc Neal</u>

Deacon Fred Foreman led the discussion to approve or deny the proposed amendments. The first amendment was put forward to the congregation. After a discussion and a few questions, **the amendment was not approved**.

After the first amendment, Bro. McNeal made a motion to adjourn the meeting and to reconvene on March 6, 2023 at 5:00pm. There was a round of debate on the proposed date. It was suggested to be held in 6 months, primarily to give members additional time to review the amendments; however the date cannot go beyond 90 days. There was also a suggestion to schedule information sessions to give members an opportunity to ask questions about the amendments prior to the meeting on 6 March 2023.

There were questions from the floor as to the position and authority of the current pastoral staff and why they can't lead the church until a new pastor is selected.

There were some who expressed their frustration of their belief that the church is being held hostage by those who don't want to move forward and allow the Deacons to run the church until we get a new pastor.

This robust discussion session took the bulk of the time during the meeting.

A motion was made to postpone the discussion and vote of the remaining amendments to March 6, 2023, at 5:00pm. During this special meeting, the only items on the agenda will be the amendments.

The motion was seconded and put before the congregation. The motion passed.

C. <u>Budget Report - Sis. Jamaine Chisholm</u>

One correction to the report submitted. Budget remains unchanged at \$300,000, however there was an increase to the Pastor's salary, which is now \$70,000. The other change noted was the inclusion of Sis. Denise Smith, Trustee, as a member of the Finance Committee. Sis. Chisholm also made the congregation aware of two vacant positions on her committee.

The motion was made to accept the Finance report with the notated changes. The motion was accepted.

After Sis. Chisholm's report, Sis. Smith, Chairperson of the Trustee informed the congregation that while our budget remains at \$300,000, we only took in \$254,000. So while we have a faith budget, we can only spend what we take in. We curtailed activities last year, so if funds don't come in, we will have to curtail activities again this year.

D. <u>Treasury Report - Sis. Denise Smith</u>

A detailed report was given by Trustee Denise Smith. In summary, our PNC account, which is our primary operating account, had a beginning balance of \$12,855.49 and receipts of \$255,415.56, and there was a transfer of \$900.00,

made from other accounts. Our disbursements were \$319,444.57, leaving us with an ending balance of \$18,282.84. We have a savings account with a beginning balance of \$69,037.08. It accrued \$\$57.06 of interest and the ending balance is \$69095.06 The Essex Bank CD, which is for the parsonage is \$140,571.10.

VI. NEW BUSINESS

A. NOMINATION COMMITTEE:

The Committee submitted the following nominations for vote by the congregation:

- Additions to the Trustee Committee; members to serve a 3-year term –
 Ernest Rodgers, Cynthia Travers and Russell Pinckney.
 The nomination was unanimously approved.
- Assistant Church Clerk Bro. Jalen Williams to serve a 2-year term.
 The nomination was unanimously approved.
- Sis. Jamaine Chisholm asked if she could make/request nominations from the floor for two at-large vacant positions on her Finance committee. She recommended Sis. Jacqueline McClure and asked for a recommendation from the floor. Bro. Gus McGowans was nominated. Both nominations were accepted and will serve a 1-year term.

B. SELECTION OF THE PULPIT COMMITTEE:

Deacon Wallace read the required position for the formation of the Pulpit Committee as dictated by our Constitution and ByLaws. Those positions include Chairperson of the Trustee Committee, Chairperson of the Deacon Ministry, two (2) deacons, one (1) deaconess, three (3) members at-large (one female, one youth 18-25 and one additional at-large member)

Nomination for Deacon positions (2):

Those nominated: Rudy Ross, Lawrence Burris, Charles Gross and Fred Foreman.

Deacon Ross withdrew his nominations.

The votes were tallied and the congregation selected Lawrence Burris and Charles Gross.

Nominations for the Deaconess position one (1):

Those nominated: Deborah McClure, Tryphina James, Essie Ross, Perlina Scott, Vancie Hackett.

Deaconesses Ross, James Scott withdrew their nomination.

The votes were tallied and the congregation selected Deborah McClure.

Nominations for Members-At Large (Women) - one (1) position:

Those nominated: Mary Pinckney, Josephine Whipple, Iva Toler and Jamaine Chisholm.

Josephine Whipple, Jamaine Chisholm and Iva Toler withdrew their nominations.

The votes were tallied and the congregation selected Mary Pinckney.

Nominations for Youth (age 18-25) - one (1) position:

Those nominated: Jalen Williams, Jasmine Crowner, Jan Lee. From those nominate, Jasmine Crowner is not a member and Jan Lee does not fit the age requirement.

Jalen Williams wins the nominations.

Nominations for At-Large Member - one (1) position:

Those nominated: William Wilkins, Josephine Whipple, Brenda Nick, Iva Toler. Perlina Scott, Shirley Turner

Josephine Whipple, Iva Toler, Perlina Scott and Shirley Turner, declined the nominations.

The votes were tallied and the congregation selected Brenda Nick.

Members of the New Pulpit Committee will be Sis. Denise Smith, Dea(s) Wallace Williams, Lawrence Burris, Charles Gross, Deaconess Deborah McClure, Bro. Jalen Williams, Sis. Mary Pinckney and Sis. Brenda Nick. The committee will meet soon to select a chairman and vice chairman. They will present their selection to the church no later than 12 February 2023 during morning worship.

VII. ADJOURNMENT

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made. The meeting was closed out with prayer from Dea. Lawrence Burris

Respectfully submitted,

Cecile Jackson Church Clerk